Chaitra Navratri Colours 2024

The nine-day festival of Navratri is an auspicious time when Hindus worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga. This vibrant festival is often associated with different Navratri colours that represent the different qualities and aspects of the Goddess. Since Navratri is right around the corner, let’s go through the different colours of Navratri and their significance to help you look and feel your best during this auspicious occasion.

Navratri Colours & their Significance

Among the different traditions and rituals that are associated with Navratri, an interesting tradition is to wear a particular colour each day. The different Navratri colours have a special spiritual significance and represent an aspect of Goddess Durga.

The Navratri colours list for Chaitra Navratri 2024 that falls in April consists of Red, Royal blue, yellow, green, grey, orange, white, pink and sky blue. Read further to learn what each colour signifies and how they can help you feel good during this auspicious time.

Chaitra Navratri 2024 Colours: Day-wise List

Let’s shed some light on the 9 colours of Navratri that you can wear for Navratri 2024. Each colour represents a different aspect of the Goddess and also sets up a joyful mood for the festive season. Here are the colours for the nine days of Chaitra Navratri in the month of April:

  • 1st Day of Navratri (April 9): Red
  • 2nd Day of Navratri (April 10): Royal Blue
  • 3rd Day of Navratri (April 11): Yellow
  • 4th Day of Navratri (April 12): Green
  • 5th Day of Navratri (April 13): Grey
  • 6th Day of Navratri (April 14): Orange
  • 7th Day of Navratri (April 15): White
  • 8th Day of Navratri (April 16): Pink
  • 9th Day of Navratri (April 17): Sky Blue

1st Day of Navratri: Red

Cotton Anarkali Kurta Set by AKISO

On the first day of Navratri, you can adorn yourself in radiant red attire, symbolising vigour and vitality. This is because red represents the energy and power of the goddess Shailputri, the embodiment of strength and determination. Thus, by wearing red on the 1st day of Navratri, you can evoke the blessings of the goddess and look your best in this bright and passionate colour.

2nd Day of Navratri: Royal Blue

Raw Silk Saree with Golden Blue by Gotitli

For Navratri 2nd day, you can wear the elegant royal blue colour as it embodies divine knowledge and wisdom. Royal blue colour signifies tranquillity, depth, and inner peace and helps devotees cultivate a sense of serenity and connect with the goddess. You can find some sustainable clothing options for the 2nd day of Chaitra Navratri 2024 at Amala Earth.

3rd Day of Navratri: Yellow

Linen Tassled Ombre Saree by Gotitli

The Navratri colour for the 3rd day of Chaitra Navratri is yellow. As you know, yellow is a colour that symbolises warmth and positivity. Thus, by wearing this bright shade you can radiate joy and invoke the goddess’s blessings on the 3rd day of Navratri 2024.

4th Day of Navratri Colour: Green

On the 4th day of Navratri, devotees can wear the colour green as it evokes a sense of growth and peace. Since green also represents renewal and new beginnings, it is an extremely optimistic colour to wear during the Navratri period.

5th Day of Navratri: Grey

For the 5th day of Navratri, you should wear the colour grey as it is a colour of wisdom that keeps you down to earth. Furthermore, the colour grey also symbolises balance and stability and can help you invoke the divine feminine and seek her blessings.

6th Day of Navratri: Orange

Pure Linen Ombre Saree by Dressfolk

As Navratri reaches its midpoint, devotees can wear a vibrant and energizing colour such as orange. This is because orange represents enthusiasm and creativity. Wearing orange attire symbolises your devotion and can inspire you to be more expressive.

7th Day of Navratri: White

The seventh day of Navratri is dedicated to the colour White, which symbolises inner strength, purity and peace. Thus, by wearing white attire on the seventh day, you can invite the divine protection of the Goddess and feel positivity and harmony throughout the day.

8th Day of Navratri: Pink

Handwoven Cotton Saree by Ira

For the 8th day of Navratri, devotees can wear the colour pink to worship Mahagauri, the embodiment of grace and allure. Pink is a Navratri colour that symbolises innocence and simplicity.

9th Day of Navratri: Sky Blue

Pure Linen Tasslled Saree by Gotitli

As Navratri draws to a close, you must wear the soothing sky blue colour that represents transcendence and divine grace. It is the best colour for the 9th day of Navratri and will help you unwind and relax. The colour also has some sacred meaning as it represents the vastness of nature and spiritual attainment.

The Takeaway

Now that you are aware of the nine colours of Navratri, get ready to celebrate the sacred period with joy and enthusiasm. While dressing up in the vibrant Navratri colours for 2024, take a step closer towards sustainability by choosing eco-friendly fabrics like organic cotton, linen, chanderi, and more. Shop for responsible fashion for this festive season at Amala Earth, your one-stop shop for all things eco-friendly.

FAQs on Navratri Colours 2024

Which colour to wear on first day of Navratri?

Since Chaitra Navratri 2024 has begun on 9th April, devotees can wear the colour red on the first day of Navratri to celebrate the occasion and pray to the divine feminine. On the 2nd day of Navratri, you can wear the Royal Blue colour to pray to the Goddess.

What is the logic of Navratri colours?

The nine colours of Navratri have their own significance and symbolism. Each colour represents specific qualities that are symbolic of the different forms and virtues of the goddess. Thus, by wearing the specific Navratri colours, devotees can seek blessings from the Goddess.

What are the 9 Navratri colours?

The nine Navratri colours for Chaitra Navratri include - Red, Royal blue, Yellow, Green, Grey, Orange, White, Pink and Sky blue. However, these colours and their order can change in Sharad Navratri that falls in October.

What does each day of Navratri signify?

Each day of Navratri signifies a different form of the Goddess Durga, also known as Navadurga. Thus, the nine days correspond with the various aspects of the divine feminine power and devotees seek blessings from the different forms and try to incorporate their virtues.

How are the colours of Navratri decided?

The nine colours of Navratri are traditionally decided based on the association of each hue with the nine forms of the divine feminine worshipped during this nine-day festival. Devotees follow a specific Navratri colour for each day, aligning their attire and decorations with the energy and symbolism of the goddess being honoured on that day.

Do colours of Navratri change every year?

While the Navratri colours mostly remain the same year after year, the order of the colours can change. The order of the nine colours of Navratri can also differ from Chaitra Navratri to Sharad Navratri. You can find the list of colours and sustainable clothing options for the festive season at Amala Earth.