Fasting Grains for Navratri

Navratri is the auspicious period when the nine holy manifestations of Goddess Durga are worshipped. Devotees attempt to appease the Goddess with many prayers and sacrifices, and fasting is one method to express gratitude to the Goddess.

Some people follow ceremonial Navratri fasts, during which they consume fasting food that is simple, clean, and vegetarian ‘saattvik’ cuisine. In this blog, we have listed the five grains that you can use in Navratri fasting food or vrat ka khana.

5 Navratri Grains to Use for Vrat Ka Khana

While cooking the Navratri fasting recipes, there are several do's and don'ts to keep in mind. Meat, eggs, cereals, legumes, and lentils must be avoided as they are not permitted for consumption during the Navratri fast

Vrat ka khana during Navratri includes kuttu and singhara atta are used as substitutes for wheat flour, vegetables such as potato and lauki (bottle gourd) predominate in curried recipes, and sendha namak or fasting salts takes over regular table salt.

Although the fasting food list is huge, people often wonder if they can use a particular grain or not. So, here are five grains that you can use to prepare the fasting food.

1. Singhara Atta

2. Kuttu ka Atta

3. Sabudana

4. Farali Flour

5. Amaranth Flour

1. Singhara Atta

The dried and powdered water chestnuts are turned into flour, which is widely used in Navratri fasting food. These naturally gluten-free water chestnuts are incredibly low in calories but high in energy. As a result, they help you feel full for long and provide essential nutrients like fibre, potassium, and minerals, contributing to a balanced diet.

Not sure what to eat in navratri fast? Multiple Navratri recipes can be prepared from singhara atta like Samosa, Aaloo Tikki, Paneer Tikki, Halwa, Aaloo Ka Parantha, Namkeen Barfi or cutlets. However, it is important to choose only high-quality grains to obtain the maximum benefits of the grain.

Singhara Atta Benefits:

  • Singhara flour is high in potassium and low in sodium
  • Singhara atta is high in carbohydrate and energy-boosting minerals, including iron, calcium, phosphorus and zinc.
  • It can be used to prepare a variety of dishes, including rotis, puris, and snacks, offering a versatile alternative to wheat flour.
  • This Navratri atta is light on the stomach and easily digestible, making it a good choice for people with digestive issues.

    2. Kuttu ka Atta

    Kuttu ka atta, or buckwheat flour, becomes a mainstay as Navratri approaches. This Vrat Ka Khana, which is high in fibre, aids digestion and has been shown to relieve gas and indigestion. Kuttu Atta is made from ground buckwheat groats. It's a gluten-free flour commonly used during Navratri.

    Kuttu Atta Benefits:

    • Kuttu ka atta is naturally gluten-free, making it an excellent choice for those with gluten sensitivity.
    • Kuttu atta is a good source of dietary fiber, which aids in digestion.
    • The nutrients in kuttu atta benefits heart health by helping regulate blood pressure and cholesterol levels.
    • This Navratri grain is rich in protein and excellent for those who are trying to build muscle.

    3. Sabudana

    Sabudana or Tapioca

    Sabudana or Tapioca flour is rich in starch content and serves as an energy-boosting snack, which is very important while fasting. Infants are also fed Sabudana porridge for physical growth and muscle strengthening.

    People who like the melt-in-your-mouth quality of Sabudana Vada will also enjoy the wholesome Sabudana Khichdi and the smooth and creamy Sabudana Kheer. Read the benefits of sabudana in detail below.

    Sabudana Benefits:

    • Sabudana is low in fat and a good source of carbohydrates
    • Due to its high carbohydrate and fibre content, it can help keep you feeling full and satisfied.
    • It functions as a complete diet, supplying necessary elements such as calcium, proteins, and fibres.
    • It contains essential minerals like calcium, magnesium, and iron, which are important for bone health.

    4. Farali flour

    Farali flour is made from a blend of barnyard millet, tapioca pearl, or amaranth flour. Thus, it is a hybrid of two or three gluten-free flours. Upvaas Thalipeeth and Farali Misal are two Maharashtrian specialities prepared using Farali, as is the Gujarati delicacy Layered Handwa. People also prepare everyday roti and Dosa from Farali Atta as it's naturally gluten-free.

    Farali Flour Benefits:

    • Farali flour allows individuals to maintain the Navratri fasts while still consuming nourishing foods that adhere to the dietary restrictions.
    • This Navratri flour is a good source of essential nutrients and is usually easy to digest
    • Farali flour is naturally gluten-free, making it suitable for individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

    5. Amaranth Flour

    Amaranth Flour

    Among all other grains you can eat during fasting, Amaranth has the greatest protein content. This is because Amaranth or Rajgira benefits the system with the help of Lysine, an amino with the most important minerals. Read further to learn the benefits of this special Navratri atta.

    Amaranth Flour Benefits:

    • The fibre component of amaranth aids digestive health while also decreasing bad cholesterol and managing blood pressure.
    • Gallic acid, p-hydroxybenzoic acid, and vanillic acid are all antioxidants that have been shown to protect against cancer and heart disease.
    • This Navratri fasting food is used in many dishes for Navratri like halwa, laddoo, dosa, cheela, poori, and chapati.

    The Takeaway

    These grains are all high in nutrients and, more crucially, gluten-free, making them ideal as Navratri fasting food. In today's environment, when people's diets are high on gluten, these five Navratri grains may help replenish their digestive system.

    Amala Earth is the ultimate destination for locally sourced, natural products that are organic and chemical-free. Explore all the fasting food and more Navratri specials only at Amala Earth.

    FAQs on Navratri Grains

    Can we eat Ragi in Navratri fast?

    Ragi is a grain that is typically avoided during Navratri along with other regular grains. However, in some cases, ragi might be allowed during the fast if it is prepared according to the Navratri fasting rules. Hence, it can also be a personal preference of the person who is fasting for Navratri to include Ragi in their diet or not.

    Can we eat Quinoa in fast?

    Yes, you can eat Quinoa during Navratri fasting. However, you must prepare it in accordance with the fasting guidelines, such as using sendha namak. Quinoa is technically a seed, not a grain but it's considered an acceptable option for those observing the Navratri vrat.

    Can we eat Singhara atta daily?

    Yes, you can include singhara atta in your daily diet but make sure you consume it in moderation. It's a nutritious gluten-free option that's easy to digest but it is crucial that you maintain a balanced diet to ensure you receive all necessary nutrients.

    Can we eat Kuttu atta daily?

    Although kuttu atta is highly recommended during the fasting period of Navratri, it is not the best pick for everyday consumption. Why? This is because kuttu flour lacks some of the essential nutrients and will not be able to provide a balanced diet.

    Which is better Kuttu or Singhara atta?

    Both kuttu and singhara atta provide different nutrients and benefits. While kuttu is rich in protein, singhara atta is lighter and easier to digest. Hence, the choice depends on your dietary requirements and personal preference.

    Can we eat millet during Navratri fasting?

    Millets are superfoods that can help increase energy levels without adding unnecessary calories. Hence, adding them to your Navratri diet is a good idea. You can incorporate them in porridge, pulao, snacks, and even use millet flour to prepare multiple dishes.